Cinnamon Roll Macarons (Attempt 2)

Well all, I tried Macarons again, and honestly they turned out better than expected. Well one pan didn’t because, of me and my lack of paying attention.

To be honest, I got this recipe from Pinterest, and the site was down the day I made these cookies. That meant I had to guess on what to do, and the cookies that turned out are the ones I actually messed up on. How awesome is that!

For these Macarons you need:

120g (1 1/4 cups) almond flour (make sure it’s dry; maybe leave it out the day before)

IMG_4163.jpg

200g (1 3/5 cups) confectioner’s sugar (for most of us, it is powdered sugar)

IMG_4162

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

Those all need to be sifted and mixed together.

IMG_4161

100g (about 3 large eggs) egg whites ( I had mine sit for a week in the fridge)

IMG_4164

50g (1/4 cup) White granulated sugar

Whisk those together with your mixer on medium to high until stiff peaks form.

After you get your stiff peaks, FOLD in the dry ingredients that you sifted. (this is where I messed up) It should flow nice and ribbon like when it is combined and ready to be put into a piping bag. When I did this I did not fold my ingredients long enough which made the top of my macarons not smooth.

Once in the piping bag make your cookies on the parchment paper (try make them all the same size) . Sorry I didn’t take a picture… Once piped out, drop the pan on the counter a couple times to get the air bubbles out. I usually do it 5 times on each side just incase.

The oven should be on convection and at 320 degrees. I guessed on the time because my ovens can be funky, but it was roughly 12 minutes. This picture is my second batch where I had the oven on bake instead of convection… they were a little rough!

IMG_4172.jpg

Once done sprinkle ground cinnamon on the tops and let completely cool. They should peel away cleanly with nice flat bottoms, and feet. If you do a better job than me, the tops should be nice and smooth.

Next step is the filling, and for this you will need.

1/2 cup cream cheese

1/2 cup butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon heavy cream

pinch of salt

2 cups confectioner’s sugar

caramel sauce

You will need to mix together the cream cheese, butter, vanilla extract, heavy cream and salt. Then slowly add in your two cups of confectioner’s sugar. Once it is all mixed together place it into a piping bag. The caramel sauce is for a different step.

IMG_4168

Once your macarons are completely cooled, match them up with similar sizes and choose your top and your bottom. After you match them pipe a ring of frosting that you made, around the outside of the bottom on the cookie. Leave the middle open. When all the bottoms have the frosting on them, fill the center with the caramel sauce ( I used Hershey). Add the top part of the cookie, and slowly push together.

After you have finished with the filling of the cookies, store them in the fridge until you’re ready to eat.

IMG_4170

I hope you enjoy this recipe, I find it quite a good eat.

Side note: my brother LOVED these and begged me to make more, so I’d say they’re quite a hit!

If you have any good macaron tips I’d love to hear them!

 

 

One thought on “Cinnamon Roll Macarons (Attempt 2)

Leave a Reply

