Grapefruit Mimosa Cupcakes

A while back I had posted about me having baking block, and I had a couple options that I was looking at. Grapefruit mimosa cupcakes were one, and I finally made them. I know in the last post I said it was going to be a while before I made cupcakes again, well it took a week and I had a pan in the oven.

I am someone who enjoys champagne and if I can put it in a cupcake then why not? I found this recipe on Pinterest and it looked so good I just had to try it. However, there are a few things I did differently than the recipe. I will give you the recipe and explain how I did mine.

Recipe for cupcake:

2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1 1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of Kosher salt

1 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice

1/2 cup champagne or white sparkling wine

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 egg whites

zest of one grapefruit

Using those ingredients you first want to put into a bowl, your flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Whisk those together to get them to combine.

IMG_4289

Set the oven to 350 degrees F. Also have those cupcake liners in the cupcake pans.

Next place the oil, grapefruit juice, butter milk, egg whites, and zest into a bowl and whisk to combine.

Once the wet materials are combined, slowly mix in the dry ingredients. Make sure to scrape all sides and that it is completely combined.

Once it is all combined you can start filling your cupcakes! Mine took about 19 minutes which was on the long side, just make sure if you insert a toothpick it comes out clean.

IMG_4292

This part of the recipe I was off on a few things, for starters the salt. I couldn’t find our Kosher salt so I used Morton salt, which I think worked fine. I also didn’t whisk together the wet ingredients, I just used the generic mixer and the regular mixing attachment. I also used that when I combined the wet and dry ingredients. I’d also like to add that you need to save zest for the icing, so do you zest measurements first.

For the Icing recipe:

1 1/2 cups champagne or sparkling white wine

4 egg whites

1 1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) of unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice

2 teaspoons grapefruit zest

Drop of pink gel food coloring

gold food dust

To start off, you will want to put your champagne in a small pot and bring to a boil on medium heat. Boil until you have about 1/4 cup of champagne in the pot. Once there, set aside to let completely cool.

Place egg whites and sugar into a glass bowl (heat approved) and whisk together. Once combined, place the glass bowl on top of a pot with water that is simmering. Occasionally whisk until translucent.

Remove from heat and mix on high till the meringue holds stiff peaks. Cool completely (put in refrigerator if needed).

Next add the butter one TBSP at a time, while whipping on medium-high. When all the butter has been added add your champagne that you boiled, grapefruit juice, grapefruit zest, and then finally your drop of pink food coloring.

For me, the power went out while I was just finishing with the sugar and egg whites, so this part was all guessing for me. I somehow made it work but it was a struggle. I didn’t make my stiff peaks to begin with, then I added all the ingredients in random order and just set the mixer on high till it got to the right consistency ( I used the whisk attachment to mix). It tells you to use edible gold dust, well I didn’t have that so I used little white sprinkles that looked just as cute, if not cuter.

My parents gave a few out to some friends and they loved them! I am not a huge grapefruit fan so this was a little tough for me but I think I could use like and orange or something that works well with champagne and that I actually enjoy. I still thought they were good!

Anyone have any other fun champagne recipes I could try?

 

Leave a Reply

