Fruity Pebble Cupcakes

I know what you’re thinking gross, and that is what everyone thought when they first brought out the fruity pebble cheesecakes. I thought the exact same thing and honestly, I am in love with the cheesecake.

I found this recipe on Pinterest, just like the cheesecake one but decided I’ll leave my favorite cheesecake to the professionals to make. You just can’t ruin a good thing by trying to make it yourself, except DIY stuff… I am OBSESSED!

So these cupcakes are going to be so fun to make, minus the smelling like fruity pebbles after. This past week was so crazy for me because, first of all it was the fourth of July and we can’t just celebrate that minimally. Second, because, I had to make a special request batch of cupcakes on Sunday which were my Chai Spiced ones, and now I gotta try squeeze in my new fruity pebbles one. Not to mention working and launching an app for my family’s business. If these don’t turn out I am blaming it on my week. Funny thing that it’s Thursday and I haven’t posted this yet because, My butter isn’t soft enough to make the frosting yet…. WHY IS THIS WEEK THE BEST?!

It’s Friday night and I am trying to complete this blog but, guess what? My pictures are on a different computer… Who would have thought? I am going to post this Monday, and then since this week is crazy busy for me I will have to take it off. I know you are just heart broken!

So here we go:

The ingredients for the cupcakes: 

3 cups of cake flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup milk

4 egg whites

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsalted butte (room temperature)

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup rainbow jimmies (not sure why these and not just the fruity pebbles that I used)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F, and line your cupcake pans.

In a large bowl combine your flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a medium bowl, whisk together your milk, egg whites, and vanilla

In the bowl of you electric mixer, using the paddle attachment, mix the butter and sugar on medium until light and fluffy (2-3 minutes). Using the lowest speed, add your dry ingredients and milk alternating them. Beginning and ending with adding the dry ingredients, and doing so just until incorporated.

Now add your rainbow jimmies (or fruity pebbles) and stir or fold them in using a rubber spatula (just until they’re moist). Be gentle.

Fill 2.3 full into the muffin tins and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until tester comes out clean.

DSC_4054

For the Frosting: 

1 1/2 cups unsalted butter (room temperature)

3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

2 tablespoons heavy cream

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Fruity pebbles for sprinkling.

Using your electric mixer again with the same paddle attachment, beat the butter and powdered sugar on medium until light and fluffy (1-2 minutes). Slowly adding the sugar.

On the low speed slowly add in your heavy cream and vanilla. Once incorporated, increase speed to medium high until the frosting is light and fluffy (1-2 minutes).

Once ready, place in piping bag with a fun decorating tip, and garnish with fruity pebbles if desired.

I brought these cupcakes to a family reunion, and they thought they were store bought! That either means they looked good and tasted bad or the looked bad and tasted good. I’m kidding, they loved them and I thought they were decent myself however, they are not as good as the cheesecake…

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

